Week 1: Audrey Barcio

barcio_1

“Beautiful Nothings 1&2” by Audrey Barcio 🙂

“Magic exists. Who can doubt it, when there are rainbows and wildflowers, the music of the wind and the silence of the stars? Anyone who has loved has been touched by magic. It is such a simple and such an extraordinary part of the lives we live.”
― Nora Roberts

For once in my life, I was beginning to judge my critique– nothing interested me in the slightest. When I walked across the room, the first thing I noticed was this masterpiece (no lies). But my first impression wasn’t “OMGOSH! This is the best thing ever!” — it was completely the opposite. I have never seen anything so futile as this, so basically I was interested in it because first, it looks interesting enough, and secondly, what is the artist’s back up for these meaningless objects? It is just basically a hollow, insignificant rock with fur pasted onto it.

Anyways, I take everything back I said! The reason is that when I was trying to take a picture of it, no matter the angle I was trying to go for, it looked stunningly beautiful. I was shocked at how beautiful it looked, so I read it’s name “Beautiful Nothings 1&2” which perfectly expresses the meaning of this masterpiece. The art just looked so magically mesmerizing. I fell in love with it. Glancing from a new angle, a mixture of warm feelings of sweet hollowness gently touched my emotions– for a moment, I truly understood that magic and reality was tangible, an everlasting heterogeneous mixture braided together tightly. For the first time in my life, this tested my never-dying eager for meaning in every single thing. Sometimes, meaningless stuff are just nothing but touchingly beautiful.

Why such beautiful nothings makes me feel a “sweet hollowness”? Take a glimpse for yourself. I can’t help but feel melancholy. Maybe it is because of how sad the colors are or maybe it is because the artist, Audrey Barcio, secluded these on a deserted white plain of oblivion!!! ( 😦 I have issues)– not to mention how these two “beautiful nothings” are separated from one another ;(. Gazing from the anterior view, all you can see is an ashy-brown bundle of fur that appears to look like two ordinary bunnies who unknowingly is separated by a glass wall with a feel of nakedness as there are no holes, no tall grass, or green bush to hide. They were created to be separated– the only point to their existence is to simply exist. Thus, explains it is best for them to stay side by side, despite its lonesome life, to remain forever as a dark, hollow rock, then risking the chance to lose one another in a abyss. Nonetheless, this is wondrously beautiful. This is why I seriously cannot help but feel this “sweet hollowness” rushing inside me.

Artist Statement by Audrey Barcio
“Influenced by magical powers and marriage of materials these forms tight rope between reality and deception. My practice gives abstract form to the incorporeal, generating new layers of significance though the intermingling of mystical forms. Seeded in ambiguity, the works investigate our relationship to magic and art.”

I would applaud his/her artwork. I wanted to share what he/she had to say about his/her “Beautiful Nothings” and I think he/she beautifully explained the essence of his/her work. I hoped you guys felt something too and if you guys have a different perception or feel about it, please share :D.

Leave a Reply

