Week 1: Maegan Renae McBee

Maegan with her chosen masterpiece-- "7- from the Retreat Series" by Carla Jay Harris

Maegan with her chosen masterpiece– “Seven from the Retreat Series” by Carla Jay Harris

What an interesting way to spell a name! Cool, right? For starters, Maeghan is from Brontwood, CA., a sophmore majoring in Criminal Justice. She is totally living in the moment for majoring in Criminal Justice. I had the same mind set like her like I wanted to be a Forensic Anthropologist because of the television show “Bones” but that phase is gone now, so I applaud her for going after her dreams. She was influenced by the television show “CSI” so that was a plus that I can relate with her. Especially, I love how she wants to become a crime investigator for the excitement– not living a life of absurdity(I am referring to Existentialism for you philosophy/literature lovers). I feel kind of thankful that she was the first classmate I talked to because she has similar ideals like me. One of the reasons is that she believes in finding the truth; she wants justice. I feel the same way too, but I am all talk…sometimes. She is actually going for it, therefore deserving some well-respect(I rarely compliment anyone these days).

Maeghan suffers from depression. I didn’t ask her anything in regards to depression because it felt too personal. All I can say is that she seems too cheerful and bubbly to suffer such a hassle. Anyone suffering from depression and surpasses it are strong-hearted for not giving in. It is a MUST to get to know this woman!

maeghanmcbee.wordpress.com

Harris_3

I took a glimpse of the art piece she chose and I didn’t give it much thought until she described how that picture attracted her. She said that the picture was “simple yet meaningful.” Mang…I feel bad because she had such an interesting analysis and I can’t find the words to perfectly express what she meant. I guess we all should just stalk her blog >:D, seriously. Anyways, to save you some trouble, I am going to quote her “The words evoked when I began to analyze this piece were: innocence, longing, shadowed, tainted, lost, brainwashed. At first I believed this was a woman who was genuinely pure at heart, but was loosing that innocence because of the ideas put in her head. Then I switched to the idea that maybe the shadow standing above is her oppressor, maybe she is laying on that grass longing to be released from the shadow others have placed over her.” Her analysis proves to be true as I also stalked Carla Jay Harris.

Carla Jay Harris explores the American archetypes of others and dismissing those assumptions through photography. ALthough she seems to not enjoy moving around and the certain negative experiences she has encountered, without that lifestyle, she would not have found her passion. I love the resolution she came up. From all the traveling, it can be too difficult to be settled with yourself(get what I’m saying?) Basically, you can’t put different puzzles to create a picture, but her resolution was that as she was traveling, she would take pictures and throughout the time, there would be a connection between those puzzles, creating a bigger picture(I hope I said that right…). Anyways, get to know Carla Jay Harris too!

carlajayharris.com

Leave a Reply

