Week 5: Photography Club

WIN_20140925_112827

What is this you guys?! I was debating whether or not I should write a blog about this. I was having conflicting ideas because it looks weird and there isn’t much to say. But, I it reminds me of home and television shows, so I decided to write about it.

WIN_20140925_112842

When you look closely in the image, you can see this misty outline of furnitures. This reminds me when I was a child, I remember it was a hot summer, I wanted to run outside, and sometimes before I run out, I would take a quick glance at the television reflection. When I look at this picture, I feel a little sad that it is vacant. There is no one there to claim home– the soft, mistiness, makes me think of age like webs. I just like this image takes me back to that time. Although there isn’t much to say about it, I just felt like I have to choose this image just to say that.

Usually art works such as photography, will make you feel aspired or fascinated by it, but I believe that rarely you will find art works that actually reminds you and takes you back in time to that place when you experienced that familiar feeling. I still remember clearly what happened in those moments. Fortunately, my home wasn’t vacant, I can see the outline of my mom cross-stitching with her friend. Isn’t it weird that as a child back then, when seeing that reflection, I still feel melancholy for no apparent reason. Maybe there is a reason, but I don’t remember– I was only a child. I can’t help but feel that life was sad at that very moment in time. I felt like it wasn’t just me, I felt like my mom was sad, but I didn’t really think about it because I was a silly child who just wanted to have fun.

Nonetheless, I still like this image even though I feel kind of melancholy. I have seen the other works and they look amazing and fun, but they cannot give off the same effect as this image. It is weird, but that moment when I experience that as a child, I can stare at a television reflection of my living room as long as possible, but it doesn’t feel like anything but a rememberance of that time.

Leave a Reply

